I Dream Of Bluetooth…

While driving home today, I received a call. Sounds simple enough, but the call was from my superior officer wondering why I hadn’t returned his urgent text messages. I explained to him that while driving, I prefer not to get my device out and navigate to the message inbox and read, let alone REPLY. However it did strike up some optimistic thinking on my part. With all of the technology readily available in the wireless industry, I believe we are on the cusp of truly futuristic innovations. I’m talking robot stuff here. The things you imagined in the ’80s when you thought about the 2000’s. Let me give an example.

I drive a 1985 military issue HumVee with an after market installed Pioneer Avic Z-2 receiver (as seen below).

Now, the unit in my vehicle is equipped with a 30GB hard-drive for the navigation maps (no DVD’s to load!), with 10 of those 30GB being allotted to music storage. The unit also has Bluetooth with a phone book/address book (which can sync to the GPS for one touch trip-routing) and auto-pairing upon entering the vehicle with a Bluetooth handset. The whole thing is also voice activated through the microphone mounted near the driver’s side of the windshield. Essentially, I can answer a call from said Superior Officer, which is then routed through the car’s audio system, all while my hands are still on the wheel. After hanging up, I can tell my car to route me to the stored address for the contact I just hung up with. Again, hands free. You may say, “Dammit General, whutintha tarnations are yew trying to say!?”.

Well, here’s what I’m thinking:

With the advancements in voice recognition software, and the obviously readily available Bluetooth support for vehicles, how long before we have a handset that pairs with our automobile’s multimedia system for Speech-To-Text SMS/E-Mailing. I can already tell my car “Phone -> Call 1-800-General” and it dials flawlessly. I can also tell my car “Library -> Bruce Springsteen -> Born In The U.S.A.” and it cues up the track. Is it really that far off to tell your car, “Phone -> SMS -> (555)555-9911 -> I’ll be there in 20 minutes. I’m picking up ammunition for the AR-15.” through Voice Command? I think not. I’m not saying that Google Android will even acknowledge some of these interests, let alone come equipped with the features “out-of-the-box”, but how long ago was it that we wouldn’t have been able to dream of carrying around 500 albums at one time, in the palm of our hands. Now most cars come stock with the iPod adapter. Samsung manufactured a handset(p207) with Speech-to-Text capabilities years ago.

I can vision a world where your primary handset links up to your vehicle’s audio system for Bluetooth calling, E-mailing, SMS, and more. Can you?

* * * * * General Mills * * * * *
(Recently promoted to Five Stars!)

4 responses to “I Dream Of Bluetooth…

  1. Why don’t you get the balls out of your mouth and maybe it will understand what ya sayin’.

  2. I have the same problem with a deck a tms employee sold me. He told me it would read my text messages and give me handjobs at the same time.

  3. I can’t say that I understand you, but thanks for the comment.

  4. Maybe it’s because I’m not talking with balls in my mouth and your so use to hear things that way.

Leave a Reply

